History of Warroad
Warroad was once one of the largest Chippewa villages on Lake of the Woods. The Chippewa fought a long and fierce war against the Sioux for the lake’s rice fields. Occupying the prairies of the Red River Valley, the Sioux would frequently invade the territory by way of the Red and Roseau Rivers, a route which ended at the mouth of the Warroad River. This was the old “war road” from which the river and village derived their name.
121 Main Av NE Warroad, MN 56763
In April 1980, Governor Quie signed a bill making the Canadian National Station a state historical site. In December 1981, Marvin families donated $25,000 to purchase the building in memory of George and Almina Marvin. Restoration began November 1983. The depot was dedicated and opened to the public on July 4, 1985. The oak doors, window casings, and woodwork are restored from the original building, as is the counter at the office window. The public washroom doors are from the original building. The depot now serves as the Warroad City Office center. The depot is also on the National Register of Historical Places.
106 Dale Ave SE
Warroad, MN 56763
Historical home built on the Warroad River in 1914. Doc’s Harbor Inn is an elegant 104 year old home that offers great river views and unique stays in Warroad.
With summer rentals of canoes, kayaks, paddle boards, paddle boats and bikes. Winter rentals are snowshoes, cross country skies & ice skates. Doc’s Harbor Inn is located within walking distance of downtown and is on the snowmobile trail.
Marker location: Warroad Point Park, at the end of Lake St. NE
Pierre Gaultier de Varennes, sieur de La Vérendrye, established Fort St. Charles on Lake of the Woods in 1732. A daring soldier, fur trader and explorer, Pierre had the ambitious dream of finding the fabled “western sea” and sought to establish French outposts along the way. On Magnusson Island (then connected with the mainland) he built a palisaded fort which he named in honor of Charles de Beauharnois, governor of New France. Fort St. Charles became the western capital of the French empire in the northwest. From it expeditions were launched and supplies dispatched to newer posts around Lake Winnipeg. Indians brought furs to trade for white men’s goods and these pelts were sent by canoe to Montreal. The scarcity of food and Indian warfare made life precarious. In 1736 Pierre’s oldest son John Baptiste de La Vérendrye, 19 voyageurs, and the Jesuit priest Father Aulneau, were sent on an expedition to the east for supplies. They were massacred by a Sioux war party on a nearby island. Abandoned after 1760, the fort was rediscovered and marked by a group of Jesuit fathers in 1908. The site was acquired and the buildings reconstructed by the Minnesota 4th Degree Knights of Columbus some 40 years later.
Burial site is located on the corner of Jeans Dr. & Carol St.
You will see 4 little houses built over the mounds under some large stately trees on your left (south side).
401 State Ave N
Warroad, MN 56763
At Marvin, we build excellence into every window and door. We craft our products and services with precision to meet customers’ specifications and exceed their expectations. Our commitment to our customers drives us beyond standard industry practices to continuously improve our processes and products. The results are uncompromising quality and superior performance. See how we work by scheduling a factory tour or visit the Wm. S. Marvin Training and Visitors center.
For more information on the Wm. S. Marvin Training and Visitors Center visit: http://www.marvin.com/our-story/visitor-center
Beltrami Island State Forest
Red Lake WMA
PO Box 100
Roosevelt, MN 56673
Located within Beltrami Island State Forest, Norris Camp has a rich history that spans over half a century. It has employed and housed over 1000 people and is one of the last Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) and Resettlement Administration (RA) camps in the nation in operational condition. Norris Camp is on the National Register of Historic Places.
Norris Camp has been headquarters for the Red Lake Wildlife Management Area since 1935. The Red Lake WMA, known earlier as the Red Lake Game Refuge, was established in 1932. Many research projects, habitat improvement projects, and population surveys have been completed there. This headquarters is also an excellent stop for bird watchers along the Pine to Prairie Birding Trail. Visit with management officials and pick up a brochure with information on site locations within the Beltrami Island State Forest.
PO Box 100
Warroad, MN 56763
The Shed is a unique modern building with 99 automobile cars dating back to the early 1900's through today. The walls of the building display historical memorabilia and signed autographs from famous people around the world. There are unique finds around every corner! When you walk through the doors we encourage you to sign our guest book and a small donation to a charity.
Marker location: Lake Street and Hwy 11
One miles east of this point just north of the mouth of the Warroad River stood a post of the American Fur Company built around 1820. The French explorer La Vérendrye and his party probably visited this region in 1732 en route to build Fort St. Charles in the present Northwest Angle.