In April 1980, Governor Quie signed a bill making the Canadian National Station a state historical site. In December 1981, Marvin families donated $25,000 to purchase the building in memory of George and Almina Marvin. Restoration began November 1983. The depot was dedicated and opened to the public on July 4, 1985. The oak doors, window casings, and woodwork are restored from the original building, as is the counter at the office window. The public washroom doors are from the original building. The depot now serves as the Warroad City Office center. The depot is also on the National Register of Historical Places.
Doc’s Harbor Inn is a Historical vacation rental property built in 1914 on the banks of the Warroad River. It is an elegant old home that offers great river views and a unique stay in Warroad, MN. Doc’s features 4 private bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, full kitchen, living room, and dining room. There is off-street parking, WiFi, Cable TV, dock space in the summer, and access to the snowmobile trail. Doc’s Harbor Inn is located within walking distance to downtown Warroad and Lake of the Woods Brewery. We are located 1 mile up river from Lake of the Woods and 1 mile from the Warroad Arena. Doc’s is the hub for outdoor adventure starting with the RiverBend skating path and Doc’s RiverRink. Doc’s rents skates, skis, snowshoes, and summer we fill the river with kayaks, paddleboards, and canoes.
Dock slips available. Located along the Warroad River behind Lake of the Woods Coffee Company.
Burial site is located on the corner of Jeans Dr. & Carol St.nnYou will see 4 little houses built over the mounds under some large stately trees on your left (south side).
At Marvin, we’re driven by this purpose: to imagine and create better ways of living. As people spend more time indoors, we recognize that our work isn’t just about building better windows and doors – it’s about opening new possibilities for how people live, work, think and feel inside a Marvin space. Since the day we opened our doors in 1912 as a family-owned and operated cedar and lumber company, we’ve looked for ways to help people live better. We continue to evolve by raising the bar, building quality, beauty and simplicity into people’s everyday lives. The Warroad location is special to the company. It is home to the Marvin Home Center, Marvin headquarters, and our original manufacturing plant spanning 2m square feet of manufacturing space. Marvin employs almost 2,000 in Warroad, and we are proud to call Warroad our long-term home and headquarters location.
The Roseau County Historical Society was organized in April 1927 with the intent of collecting, preserving and disseminating the history of Roseau County, Minnesota. The Roseau County Historical & Museum is located in the Roseau City Center. The museum displays artifacts tell the story of Roseau County’s past, along with other unique artifacts.
Corner of Elk St. and Hwy 11. This beautiful memorial commemorates our United States Armed Forces. The memorial was dedicated in May 2004.
Marker location: Lake Street and Hwy 11. One miles east of this point just north of the mouth of the Warroad River stood a post of the American Fur Company built around 1820. The French explorer La Vérendrye and his party probably visited this region in 1732 en route to build Fort St. Charles in the present Northwest Angle.
The Warroad Historical Society is a nonprofit organization dedicated to collecting, preserving and displaying the rich history of Warroad. Exhibits and events are held in the Warroad Heritage Center, which provides an opportunity for cultural development and awareness of the local history for people of all ages. It contains regional exhibits of Ojibwa artifacts, a history of local industry, works by area writers and artists, genealogies and old photographs. The Warroad Heritage Center is housed in the Warroad Public Library building, 201 Main Ave. NE Warroad, MN.
Heritage Center Hours: Monday- Friday 1-5 | Saturday 10-3 | Sunday Closed