In April 1980, Governor Quie signed a bill making the Canadian National Station a state historical site. In December 1981, Marvin families donated $25,000 to purchase the building in memory of George and Almina Marvin. Restoration began November 1983. The depot was dedicated and opened to the public on July 4, 1985. The oak doors, window casings, and woodwork are restored from the original building, as is the counter at the office window. The public washroom doors are from the original building. The depot now serves as the Warroad City Office center. The depot is also on the National Register of Historical Places.
LEARN WARROAD’S HISTORY
Doc’s Harbor Inn is a Historical vacation rental property built-in 1914 on the banks of the Warroad River. It is an elegant old home that offers great river views and a unique stay in Warroad, MN. Doc’s features 4 private bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, full kitchen, living room, and dining room. There is off-street parking, WiFi, Cable TV, dock space in the summer, and access to the snowmobile trail. Doc’s Harbor Inn is located within walking distance to downtown Warroad and Lake of the Woods Brewery. We are located 1 mile up river from Lake of the Woods and 1 mile from the Warroad Arena.
At Marvin, we’re driven by this purpose: to imagine and create better ways of living.
As people spend more time indoors, we recognize that our work isn’t just about building better windows and doors – it’s about opening new possibilities for how people live, work, think and feel inside a Marvin space.
Since the day we opened our doors in 1912 as a family-owned and operated cedar and lumbar company, we’ve looked for ways to help people live better. We continue to evolve by raising the bar, building quality, beauty and simplicity into people’s everyday lives.
The Roseau County Historical Society was organized in April 1927 with the intent of collecting, preserving and disseminating the history of Roseau County, Minnesota. The Roseau County Historical & Museum is located in the Roseau City Center. The museum displays artifacts tell the story of Roseau County’s past, along with other unique artifacts.
Marker location: Lake Street and Hwy 11. One miles east of this point just north of the mouth of the Warroad River stood a post of the American Fur Company built around 1820. The French explorer La Vérendrye and his party probably visited this region in 1732 en route to build Fort St. Charles in the present Northwest Angle.
The Warroad Historical Society is a nonprofit organization dedicated to collecting, preserving and displaying the rich history of Warroad. Exhibits and events are held in the Warroad Heritage Center, which provides an opportunity for cultural development and awareness of the local history for people of all ages. It contains regional exhibits of Ojibwa artifacts, a history of local industry, works by area writers and artists, genealogies and old photographs. The Warroad Heritage Center is housed in the Warroad Public Library building, 201 Main Ave. NE Warroad, MN.
Heritage Center Hours: Monday- Friday 1-5 | Saturday 10-3 | Sunday Closed
Beltrami Island State Forest, Red Lake WMA. Located within Beltrami Island State Forest, Norris Camp has a rich history that spans over half a century. It has employed and housed over 1000 people and is one of the last Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) and Resettlement Administration (RA) camps in the nation in operational condition. Norris Camp is on the National Register of Historic Places. Norris Camp has been headquarters for the Red Lake Wildlife Management Area since 1935. The Red Lake WMA, known earlier as the Red Lake Game Refuge, was established in 1932. Many research projects, habitat improvement projects, and population surveys have been completed there. This headquarters is also an excellent stop for bird watchers along the Pine to Prairie Birding Trail. Visit with management officials and pick up a brochure with information on site locations within the Beltrami Island State Forest.
PO Box 100
Roosevelt, MN 56673